PROVIDENCE ASSAULT & BATTERY LAWYER
Assault and battery are serious charges because they involve violent behavior directed at others that can result in physical harm. Assault is an act that threatens another with physical violence or attempts to do so while battery involves making actual physical contact with the person that is unwanted and meant to harm. If you raise your fist to punch someone but hold back, that could be considered assault. The battery would ensue if you actually followed through with the punch.
Assault and battery can occur in many situations, from domestic disturbances to bar fights, fights between attendees at sporting events, and more. Disagreements between individuals can arise in these situations, leading to claims of assault and battery, The person who remains uninjured usually winds up being arrested. If you have been charged with assault or battery or both, you can turn to The Law Office of Brett V. Beaubien for highly-professional and competent legal help.
Facing charges? Contact The Law Office of Brett V. Beaubien for a free consultation with our Providence assault and battery attorney by calling (401) 246-8579. Or use our convenient online contact form to get started. Hablamos español. Also Serving Clients in Bristol County, Attleboro, Norfolk County, Providence County & throughout Rhode Island & Massachusetts.
ASSAULT & BATTERY LAWS & PENALTIES IN RHODE ISLAND
Assault and battery are outlined under Rhode Island criminal laws Chapter 5 Section 11-5-2 and 11-5-3. Simple assault or battery are misdemeanor offenses in which you attempt to harm or in which you commit a battery that does not result in serious bodily harm against another. Simple assault can consist of many different actions, such as pushing, punching, slapping, kicking, or charging at someone. Under Rhode Island law, these misdemeanor charges are punishable by a jail term of up to a year and/or a fine of up to $1,000.
If the assault or battery was committed as domestic violence against a spouse, family, or household member, you may face additional consequences per Section 12-29-5.4 of Rhode Island General Laws. Domestic violence assault generally results in a no-contact order in which you are removed from any shared residence with the alleged victim, ordered to cease any further violent actions, stay away from the alleged victim and his/her home, workplace, and places frequented, and other restrictions. You may also lose your gun rights.
Felony Assault & Battery
Felony assault and battery convictions are punished more severely. These charges involve causing injury or serious bodily injury or committing assault on those of a protected class, such as police officers, other public servants, seniors over the age of 50, the disabled, school teachers, or health care providers.
Assault with a deadly weapon is also a felony charge as is a domestic assault by strangulation, even without serious injury.
The penalties for felony assault and battery will depend on the details of the case but can range from three to 20 years in prison and fines of up to $1,000. Additional penalties can include probation, loss of gun rights, mandatory batterers’ intervention programs, anger management programs, restraining orders, and substance abuse counseling, depending on the circumstances.
Turn to Our Dedicated Rhode Island Assault & Battery Attorney
Having the dedicated assistance of our criminal defense attorney can make a difference in how you are charged and the potential penalties you face or if you walk away with a criminal conviction. Attorney Beaubien can investigate the specifics of your case to devise a hard-hitting defense strategy designed to protect your rights while pursuing your best possible outcome.
Other Practice Areas
Contact The Law Office of Brett V. Beaubien today to get started with our Providence appeals attorney.