Providence Firearm Violation Lawyer
Our Constitution gives Americans the right to bear arms here in the U.S. However, both state and federal laws have placed limitations on this right, especially in light of the many shootings that have occurred in various places across the nation. Because of this, if you own a gun or intend to own one, you need to understand the gun laws in your state. Violations of these laws can result in serious consequences, including jail time and heavy fines.
At The Law Office of Brett V. Beaubien, we are here to provide you with the representation you need when arrested and charged with such violations. To fight such charges, you will be best served by turning to an attorney who has demonstrated competence in this matter. Mr. Beaubien is an experienced criminal defense lawyer who is adept in the applicable laws, the local court systems, and how to defend clients in all types of weapons charges as evidenced by his track record and high industry ratings.
Schedule a free initial consultation with our Providence firearm violation attorney at our Providence office to discuss your case and options by contacting The Law Office of Brett V. Beaubien at (401) 213-0771. We also serve clients in Bristol County, Attleboro, Norfolk County, Providence County, Cumberland & throughout Rhode Island & Massachusetts. Hablamos español.
Firearm Violations in Rhode Island
Many laws have been enacted in Rhode Island pertaining to the purchase, sale, ownership, possession, and use of firearms. Gun crimes in our state are governed by Chapter 47 of Rhode Island General Law.
Gun crimes can include but are not limited to:
- Unlawfully discharging a firearm
- Possessing a firearm while committing a crime
- Possessing a firearm as a convicted felon
- Possessing a firearm as a drug addict or mentally incompetent person
- Possessing a firearm without a permit or license
- Possessing a stolen firearm
- Possessing a firearm while selling or delivering drugs
- Modifying semi-automatic weapons
- Carrying a concealed weapon without a permit or license
- Committing fraud to buy or sell a firearm
A common firearm violation in our state is carrying a gun or even having it in your car without a license. Conviction of this crime is punishable by a prison sentence of at least one year and a maximum sentence of up to 10 years along with a fine of up to $10,000.
Committing a violent crime while armed with a firearm can result in a five-year prison sentence in addition to the sentence for the underlying crime.
The above are only a few examples of the criminal accusations you can face related to firearms. If you or anyone you know has been arrested for a gun crime, our firm can help you in seeking an optimum result. The sooner you bring Mr. Beaubien into your case, the better your chances are of avoiding or minimizing any consequences.